Jeffrey Archer – Thrilling Masses Since 1974

Writersmelon-Jeffrey Archer

Jeffrey Archer’s love for India has grown over the years. He visited India in 2013 first and then in 2014 to promote earlier books of The Clifton Chronicles. The thriller extraordinaire was in India again last month to promote his latest book, This Was A Man. Jeffrey Archer visited Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Pune, and Mumbai on his visit. The seventh and final installment of his widely acclaimed and popular Clifton Chronicles, This Was A Man wraps up the story of Harry Clifton, the protagonist of the series.

Jeffrey Archer is one of the most controversial authors of all-time. His stint as Member of Parliament from Louth, Lincolnshire, lasted from 1969 to 1974 but ended when a financial scandal led him to bankruptcy. In 2001, he was imprisoned on counts of perjury and obstructing justice. His imprisonment came as a shocker in those times. But his books tell a different story altogether. Quite literally. He started writing while he was still Member of Parliament and has risen up and above all things politics-related and emerged as one of the finest authors ever.

The Writing that Speaks Volumes:

With Archer’s books selling 330 million copies worldwide, every one of them has become almost instant bestsellers. Archer is known for his stunning storylines and impeccably shocking endings. Since his first novel, Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less, he has written 23 novels, 9 short story collections, 3 plays, 4 books for children that came out between 1980 and 81, and 3 volumes of diaries of when he was in prison. His prison diaries served as inspiration for 9 stories in his short story collection, Cat O’ Nine Tales.

First Book: Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less:

Jeffrey Archer wrote his first novel, Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less in 1974 when he was still Member of Parliament. He was then on the verge of bankruptcy. It turned out to be a spectacular move as the book was genius written in words. A classic page-turner, the book’s plot is enticing and keeps you on tenterhooks the whole time, with the last two pages numbing your mind. Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less was first published in the U.S. in 1974. It later came to Britain in autumn of 1976.

Jeffrey Archer – Bestselling Work:

Though almost all of his books are proven blockbusters, Kane and Abel (1979) remains Jeffrey Archer’s bestselling book to date. The first book of the Kane and Abel series, it catapulted to #1 on The New York Times’ bestseller list. Archer followed it up with two more books in the series: The Prodigal Daughter (1982) and Shall We Tell the President? (1986). Though Shall We Tell the President? was first published in 1977 as a standalone novel, it was later revised to include it into the Kane and Abel series in 1986.

Clifton Chronicles:

Jeffrey Archer’s Clifton Chronicles is a series of 7 books, the latest of which released worldwide on November 3 this year. This Was A Man follows the Clifton family’s lives and the turmoil that surrounds them. If the Cliftons can emerge from devastation and tragedy forms the crux of this wrap-up novel.

Upcoming Books:

While This Was A Man saw the Clifton Chronicles end, Archer has Heads You Win planned for release in 2017. Like all his other books, it is sure to bring everyone’s blood to boil in anticipation and set pulses racing. He is also set to write a book that will, according to him, be bigger than Kane and Abel. He brands it his life’s biggest work.

Jeffrey Archer is one of the best authors we have had, of that there is no doubt. Every one of his books brings thrill and wonder in equal measure. Thank you for 42 years of thrilling writing, Jeffrey Archer! We cannot wait for more!


Book lovers can  Contribute articles  &  join our Review program to receive review copies of new release books.  And if you are an author, share about you & your book(s) in Author’s corner & do take a look at our unique community approach to Book Marketing.!


A former IT professional, Sonali gave up her cozy job to pursue her passion : writing. She is currently a freelance writer and an author. Her first novel 'Of Knights and Lillies' has released last year. She is working on her second work of fiction, a novel that revolves around travel and self discovery. Sonali's dream is to travel the world and write her own travelogues that will inspire travelholics. While she is not fantasizing about travelling the world and being a full time content writer and author, Sonali is also busy being a poet, booklover and reviewer, music lover and a full time grammar nerd!

Leave a Reply